New Delhi, August 12: The Union Public Services Commission Mains 2017 exam dates have been released by the government on its official website – The UPSC Civil Services Mains examination will start from October 28th, 2017 and will end by November 3rd 2017.

The candidates who had successfully cleared the preliminary exams need to fill the Detailed Application Form (DAF) for the Mains Exam, which will be available on the official website of UPSC on 17th August 2017.

According to the UPSC Mains 2017 examination schedule, the first paper of essay will be conducted on October 28th, 2017. The general studies papers will be conducted on 30th and 31st October 2017 in four shifts.

The UPSC has scheduled the Language papers on November 1st, 2017 with Indian Language paper to be conducted in the morning shift where candidates can select 22 Indian languages for which they have prepared. The 22 languages include Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi (Devanagari/Arabic Script), Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu. The English Language paper will be held in the afternoon session.

Also, the optional papers under the UPSC Mains 2017 are scheduled for November 3rd, 2017.

On October 29th and November 2nd, there would be no exams, an official notice of the UPSC said.

According to the UPSC official site, all the exams will be conducted for 3 hours duration in the morning session and afternoon sessions viz:

1. Morning Session: 9 am to 12 noon.
2. Afternoon Session: 2 pm to 5 pm.

Also, candidates who are appearing for the UPSC Mains 2017 can check the complete schedule at