New Delhi Latest News

Soon, ‘Smart traffic signals’ to reduce commuters’ waiting time on Indian roads

Bangalore: In order to reduce congestion on the road and reduce commuters’ waiting time, a plan to install ‘smart traffic signals’ is under consideration.

According to the report published in Rush Lane, these signals will reduce the unnecessary waiting time of the commuters on the roads.

Japanese International Cooperation Agency (JICA) is planning to invest Rs 72 crores in Bangalore in this project. If this project is proved to be successful, these signals will be installed in other Indian cities too. These signals can reduce waiting time by almost 30 percent.

It may be mentioned that earlier, JICA had installed such signals in countries like Cambodia, Myanmar and Thailand.

Here is how these signals work

Currently, traffic signals work on a fixed timer. The commuters have to wait for a fixed amount of time irrespective of the number of vehicles at the junction.

Smart traffic signals are different. It considers the number of vehicles at the junction before turning into red or green. These signals will work on sensors which will be installed on the road to analyze the traffic flow.

It may be noted that such traffic signals are likely to be installed at 29 junctions in Bangalore.

मंदिरों में बँटे अब यही प्रसाद, एक पौधा और थ ोड़ी सी खाद

मंदिरों में बँटे अब यही प्रसाद,
एक पौधा और थोड़ी सी खाद

हर मस्जिद से यही अजान,
दरख्त लगाए हर इंसान ।

अब गूंजे गुरूद्वारों में वानी,
दे हर बंदा पौधों को पानी ।

सभी चर्च दें अब ये शिक्षा,
वृक्षारोपण यीशु की इच्छा ।

"नित हो रहीं हैं सांसें कम !
आओ पेड़ लगाऐं हम !"

🌴🌴🌴🌴🌴🌴🌴🌴 🌿

पेड़ लगायें जीवन बचायें

Sindhu Loses In Thailand Open Final

Bangkok: Olympic silver medallist P V Sindhu’s title drought this year continued as she suffered a straight-game defeat against Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara in the summit clash of the USD 350,000 Thailand Open World Tour Super 500 badminton tournament here today.

Second seed Sindhu struggled with her consistency throughout the duel as fourth seeded Okuhara dominated the proceedings to beat the Indian 21-15 21-18 in exactly 50 minutes.

It was Sindhu’s third disappointment in a final this year following her defeats in the summit clash of the India Open and Gold Coast Commonwealth Games. Sindhu, who had an ankle strain ahead of the CWG and missed the Uber Cup final, reached semifinal and quarterfinal in her last two tournaments — in Malaysia and Indonesia — before this one.

World number 3 Sindhu showed glimpses of her best against world number 8 Okuhara, who besides the initial part of the second game, looked in complete control over the proceedings. Okuhara took no time to get her grip on the match by taking a 6-2 lead in the opening game.

Sindhu did not give up and used her long reach to great effect and came up with some aggressive cross-court smashes to reduce the margin to 15-17.

But then, Okuhara came up with some really aggressive net play which forced Sindhu to commit unforced errors and the Japanese pocketed four straight points to wrap up the first game in her favour.

Sindhu came out all guns blazing in the second game and showed aggressive intent, along with delicate net play to race to a 5-1 lead.

Woman lawyer raped by senior advocate in South Delhi

New Delhi, Jul 15  A woman lawyer was allegedly raped by a senior advocate in his chamber in South Delhi’s Saket court, police said today.

The victim, in her statement to the police, said the accused, who was in an inebriated condition, sexually assaulted her in his chamber which was in the same complex where she worked, Deputy Commissioner of Police (south) Romil Baaniya said.

On the intervening night of July 14-15, the victim called up the police and alleged that she was sexually assaulted by the senior lawyer, the DCP said.

Her statement has been recorded and a medical examination has also been conducted, he said.

The chamber, where the alleged incident took place, has been sealed and the Forensic Science Laboratory and crime team has inspected it, Baaniya said.

A case was registered and the accused, who is in his 50s, was arrested from South Delhi’s Sangam Vihar and later produced before the Saket court, he said.

Source: PTI

Niti Aayog Working on Proposal To Replace LPG Subsidy With Cooking Subsidy

New Delhi: Government think tank Niti Aayog is working on a proposal to replace LPG subsidy with cooking subsidy in order to extend the benefits to people using piped natural gas and biofuels for cooking purposes, a top official said today.

Niti Aayog Vice Chairman Rajiv Kumar said subsidy should be applicable for all fuels that are used for cooking. At present, the government extends subsidy to users of Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG).

“Niti Aayog is working on a proposal to replace LPG subsidy with cooking subsidy. LPG is a specific product, a subsidy should be for larger set of all products/ fuels which are used for cooking.

“(For) all fuels which are used for cooking, subsidy should be applicable. Because if there are some cities where PNG (Piped Natural Gas) is used, then it is only logical that the subsidy be extended to them also,” Kumar told PTI in an interview.

Kumar’s comments also come against the backdrop of apprehensions in certain quarters that subsidy only for LPG users is inhibiting the adoption of clean and cheap fuels such as biofuels in rural areas and PNG in urban areas.

The changes pertaining to cooking subsidy are likely to be incorporated in the draft National Energy Policy 2030. The draft was made public last year. After inter-ministerial consultations, the policy would be taken up by the Cabinet.

All LPG consumers have to buy fuel at market price. However, the government subsidises 12 cylinders of 14.2 kilogram each per household in a year by directly transferring the subsidy amount to the users’ bank accounts.

Salman Khan paid for Dr Hathi aka Kavi Kumar Azad’s treatment when he almost died eight years ago

Salman Khan is reportedly closely associated with Dr Muffi, who operated on Dr Hathi aka Kavi Kumar Azad. The doctor reportedly performed the surgery free of cost, as per the report. TV actor Kavi Kumar Azad aka Dr. Hathi had almost died eight years ago after he collapsed