UP, Bihar bypolls results LIVE: SP widens lead in Gorakhpur by 14,000 votes, Phulpur by 20,000; RJD ahead in Araria, Jehanabad

The counting of votes for by-elections to three Lok Sabha and two assembly constituencies in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar is being held amid tight security.

The results are being keenly watched for pointers to a possible bigger opposition alliance before the next Lok Sabha polls.

The voter turnout was 47.45% in Gorakhpur and 37.39% in Phulpur on March 11. Gorakhpur is significant for the BJP as it is the bastion of the chief minister Yogi Adityanath, who represented the seat in the Lok Sabha five times.

Nitish Kumar-led NDA government in Bihar will face its first major electoral test, after it severed ties with the grand alliance (GA) last year, in the bypolls for Araria Lok Sabha and Bhabua and Jehanabad assembly seats, which took place on March 11.

Araria saw 57% turnout, down from 61.47 in 2014. Turnout in Bhabua was 54.3%, slipping from 59.80% recorded in the 2015 assembly polls. Jehanabad recorded 50.6% turnout, down from 55.22% in 2015.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *