UP Civic Polls Results: The 16 Newly Elected Mayors

Lucknow, Dec 1: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Friday grabbed 14 out of 16 Nagar Nigams as results were declared for the Uttar Pradesh Urban Local Body Elections 2017(UP Nagar Nikay Chunav). The BJP had won 10 out 12 Mayoral posts in the 2012 Civic Polls and has maintained its victory run in Uttar Pradesh. UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath called the victory a historic win for the BJP. BJP’s Sanyukta Bhatia has become the first woman mayor of Lucknow in 100 years.

While it was triumph for the BJP, it was a comeback of sorts of Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The BSP managed to win 2 mayoral posts in the state. While BJP won Mayoral posts in 14 Nagar Nigams including Gorakhpur, Varanasi and Agra, the BSP won mayoral posts in Meerut and Aligarh.

Here is the list of the newly elected mayors of Uttar Pradesh

Nagar Nigam Mayor Party
Aligarh Md Furqan BSP
Gorakhpur Sitaram jaiswal BJP
Varanasi Mridula Jaiswal BJP
Saharanpur Sanjiv Waliya BJP
Moradabad Vinod Agarwal BJP
Mathura Mukesh Aryabandhu BJP
Ayodhya Rishikesh Upadhyay BJP
Firozabad Nutan Rathod BJP
Agra Navin Jain BJP
Ghaziabad Asha Verma BJP
Kanpur Pramila Pandey BJP
Jhansi Ram Tirath Singhal BJP
Lucknow Sanyukta Bhatia BJP
Meerut Sunita Verma BSP
Bareilly Umesh Gautam BJP
Allahabad Abhilasha Gupta BJP

The election was being seen as the first litmus test for Yogi Adityanath, who became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh eight months ago with BJP getting a landslide victory in Assembly polls. Adityanath campaigned across the state extensively to ensure his victory in civic polls and the results today show his campaigning paid off.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *